Tag Archives: Jourdan Grez

Memorial Day Assembly (31 May, 2016)

Thank you to all Cadets, Students, Teachers, and Guests who attended yesterday’s Memorial Day Assembly to honor all fallen American servicemen and women from the Revolutionary War to the present day, including two JRHS Alumni, USMC Lance Corporals Jourdan Grez (Class of 1999) and Karl Linn (Class of 2002). Following the ceremony in the auditorium, the Unit and distinguished guests participated in a wreath laying ceremony at the memorial to Linn and Grez.

Sixth Annual James River High School Memorial Day Ceremony

Wreath Laying Ceremony, Memorial Day Assembly 2016

In honor of LCpl Karl R. Linn (Class of 2002), LCpl  Jourdan L. Grez (Class of 1999), and all those who have died in service to the United States of America

Ceremonial Duty Roster

  • Master of Ceremonies:  c/LTCDR John Booker, Commanding Officer, JRHS NJROTC
  • Music:
    • Opening instrumentals: JRHS Orchestra, (cond. Justin Turpin)
    • National Anthem and “America the Beautiful”: JRHS Chamber Ensemble (cond. Marissa Parsons)
    • Taps: Ethan Massey and Daniel Newsome, JRHS Wind Ensemble
  • Author/reader, “Purple Hearts” (poem): Jessie Lynn Conner
  • Official Party/Candle Lighters:
    • Mr. Dick Linn, Father of LCpl Linn, Gold Star Family
    • LTC Phil Koren, Military Order of the Purple Heart
    • Joy Mullens, Navy League, Richmond
    • Rev. Rocky Angone, Wreaths Across America
    • Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, School Board Member, Midlothian
    • Col. Jeffrey Ellick, US Army (ret.), Principal, James River High School
    • Mr. Chris Negaard, Teacher, US/VA History, James River High School
    • Nick Burns, Student, James River High School
    • Erin Kasemersky, Student, James River High School Center for Leadership and International Relations
    • Danny McCabe, Senior Class President, James River High School
    • Dr. Jennifer Coleman, Assistant Principal, James River High School
  • Color Guard:
    • c/PO2 Meily Yong, American Flag
    • c/LTJG Daniel Markey, Navy Flag
    • c/LT Eden Price, Right Rifle
    • c/LTJG Luke Ewing, Left Rifle
  • Side Boys:
    • c/PO2 Spencer Willett, Pipe
    • c/LT Tom Curran, Bell
    • c/LT Kaitleen Rivera
    • c/CPO Quinn Lilly
    • c/SN Gustavo DeMatos
    • c/SCPO Kevin Juarez
    • c/SN Logan Easingwood
    • c/ENS Anthony Ing
    • c/PO2 Kiara Prera
    • c/LTJG Thomas Shashaty
  • Wreath Laying:
    • Mr. and Mrs. Richard Linn, Parents, LCpl Karl R. Linn
    • Mrs. Donna Dollings, Teacher, Jourdan L. Grez
    • Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, Honoring All Fallen Soldiers
  • Wreath Presentations:
    • c/LT Kaitleen Rivera, Honor Guard Commander (2015-2016)
    • c/ENS Anthony Ing, Chaplain
    • c/CPO Quinn Lilly, Honor Guard Commander (2016-2017)
  • Honor Guard Detail (furthest to closest):
    • c/LTJG Daniel Markey, First Lieutenant
    • c/SN James Bowes
    • c/PO3 Daniel Cappiello
    • c/PO2 Kiara Moya-Prera, Assistant PFO
    • c/PO2 Kevin Brandau, Platoon Leader
    • c/PO2 Devin Lowe, Assistant Supply Officer
    • c/SN Joel Ezell
    • c/CPO Thomas Kaupish, Platoon Leader


This slideshow requires JavaScript.